Twins! (as in 2 babies, not the team… go Sox/Brewers!)

Well, it is most likely that you have found your way here because you know that Don and I are having babies! One was just not going to be enough and instant family, it is! Of course this is a very profound day for both of us and I think we’re still trying to wrap our heads around such excitement.

Last week we kinda just assumed our blessing was for one, so going to the doctor this morning seemed routine. It was finally time to see a heartbeat, which we did. Instantly. A sweet little flutter… a tiny heart just moving as fast as it can. The doctors got a little quiet, maybe mumbled a few things, I don’t know, but it was then the “Slesnick” in me came out. I assumed the worst and immediately asked if something was wrong. Was the heart not beating fast enough? Was it not looking healthy? Everything I feared, of course. But no, the doctor’s timid face turned to a smile and simply said, “No, the heart’s beating just fine, in fact they both are.” That’s when we saw the second, beautiful flutter.

So today I’ve heard MANY “oh-my-Gods” from friends and family, which is kinda funny. It also seems to be the same thing running through my head over and over again. On repeat. So yeah, this is crazy.  And yet I can’t wipe the smile off my face.

The support and excitement from all of our friends and family is above and beyond what we had anticipated. We thank you all well in advance.

Needless, to say, today is seven weeks and here are our baby’s very first pictures!

Our sweet little miracle number one: Twin A

 
 

Our sweet little miracle number two: Twin B

 Congrats to all the new Grandparents, Aunties, Uncles, Great Aunts, Great Uncles, Cousins and friends we consider our family. It’s a very exciting time for us, and love that we’re sharing it with you!
 
Sandi and Don
5 thoughts on “Twins! (as in 2 babies, not the team… go Sox/Brewers!)

  1. I am just thrilled for you guys!!! It is an amazing journey you are starting. I don’t know if you know this but your Uncle Michael and I had a very hard time conceiving. After Michael having surgery and me taking fertility drugs and your Uncle too we still were not pregnant. We did this over a period of 3 years. My doctor had us take a break from everything and sure enough we were lucky to have our miracle William! It was not in the cards for us to have another child. We tried until William was 8 and then realized it was time to be thankful for what we had:-) Oh and by the way I think God new what he was doing:-) SO long story short I can SO relate to how excited and thankful you guys must be. Enjoy EVERY moment! I can tell you from experience it gets better and better. I LOVE having a 20 year old and at times I can’t believe he just turned 20. I just want to say CONGRATULATIONS again and we Luv U guys!!

    Love,
    Aunt Diane

    • Thanks Aunt Diane… I didn’t know you guys had gone through treatments, as well. Not that it’s okay, but thankfully, we only had one failed attempt with treatments that ended in miscarriage very early in the pregnancy. Somehow I knew to go right back into trying… though my hormones were up and down and up down (hence migraine after migraine) but our second treatment has obviously worked and has indeed exceeded our expectations. This is nothing we will ever take for granted, just like I know Willliam is your gift. Thanks for all the love! We love you guys so much!

  2. It’s going to be soooooooo amazing!!! I’m so happy for you both!! Congrats and much love…hope you continue feeling great! Call if you need ANYTHING, ANYTIME!!!!

  3. It’s such exciting news. I am so happy for the both of you. You will make great parents. I can’t wait to read each and every post on this blog. Thanks, in advance, Sandi for sharing this wonderful journey will us all. Love you.

Leave a Reply

