Practice

So Don and I do not know any families with twin babies. It’s a foreign concept to us, though we’re positive that it will entail lots and lots of work. But long before we even knew we were expecting (twins at that) we had agreed to dogsit my parent’s three dogs, along with our two dogs. That meant five dogs under one roof and though all dogs are small and cute and sweet and cuddly, there is just a lot expected while taking care of them.

For instance, my parent’s dogs get fed three times a day; whereas I’ve been used to feeding my two only twice a day. So now they are all on the same feeding schedule and that means five meals, three times a day:  fifteen total dog meals daily. Holy cow. I would imagine this will be similiar in our baby feeding schedule… a bottle around every two to three hours, x’s two babies would be around sixteen-ish feedings a day.  See… five dogs are practice.

They have also had a few issues in getting up in the middle of the night to bark at nothing, which I equate to a baby crying. Or how they need to go out – all.the.time – which I equate to changing diapers. So it’s a lot of work, but at the end of the day, I kinda love it. Just like I think I’m going to love having twins.

Don – being puppy attacked!

 

All five of the babies.
Max, being all cute. Sigh.

 

 

One thought on “Practice

  1. Yup, I can see where taking care of the dogs is a preparation! About twins in families…perhaps Carl & Karen could think back and remember when Kathy & Chris were little…and we didn’t even know they were twins til the birth! Oh boy…that must have been mind-blowing to Karen! Love & Hugs…

Leave a Reply

